Games4Ed twitter chat reflection from 3/30/17

*I will participating in and writing reflections about Twitter chats with the games4ed hashtag this semester. Here is one of those reflections.

2443947064

Late week I participated in my first ever Twitter chat. In these chats participants use a common hashtag to share thoughts, feelings, and experiences about prompts shared by the chat moderator. In the chat I participated we used #games4ed and has a theme of gamify your classroom, moderated by Melissa Pilakowski (@mpilakow) and hosted by  Dr. Matt Farber (@MatthewFarber)

games4ed advertisment pic.PNG

I enjoyed the format of the twitter chat. The host shared questions one at a time and participants replied back. Initially the answers to questions came very fast and it was overwhelming to process all the information and ideas that was shared. By the time I had composed my answers and responded to some of the other participants, the next question what up and that is also when the side conversations started up. I would respond to something interesting  another participant shared or someone would comment on my ideas and we would lunch on a tangent. Needless to say I was quickly out of step with the main body of the Twitter chat. Playing catch up I stopped focusing on the questions themselves and looked to the responses and my ongoing side conversations to stay engaged but not feel overwhelmed.

The first question from the chat caught me off balance, it asked:

games4ed pic 2.PNG

I had not thought of games as being ways to “leave” the classroom my focus had been on engagement and how games could be used to increase motivation. But I did remember one game that I play in class that does transport students to a different vertula place and gets their bodies moving.  

games4ed pic 3

In the end I found that the side conversation that were sparked by this Twitter chat had the most profound impact on me. Through my discussions of GoNoodle I was able to connect with GoNoodle and have been receiving update about new games and activities on their platform. I also started chatting with a kindred educator spirit who is developing a fantasy football math curriculum for the fall. I think this was a very successful chat and I look forward to participating in another, this time with knowledge of the ways for to participate that best fit my learning style.

Games4Ed twitter chat reflection from 3/30/17

2 thoughts on “Games4Ed twitter chat reflection from 3/30/17

  1. Wow that is pretty cool, I have never participated in one of these conversations before. It is good to hear how they happen. Do you think that this could happen within a classroom for Homework?Or in Class? I do not know myself but if might be cool?…. Thank you for the share, It makes me feel a little bit more comfortable to join something like this myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

