Oasis Farms – Find Refuge from the Food Desert – Daily Create week 9

This week I decided to tackle Daily Create #1522: Make a Sign For Your Randomly Generated Ranch Name. I think using name generators then having to create something form the name is an awesome idea, I could see doing this exact activity with my students and extending the activity to having the farm be a setting in a short story.

The name generator gave me Oasis Farms, which I was drawn too because it provides the perfect counter part to the term food desert – which describes a neighborhood with limited or no access to fresh produce or other non-packaged foods. I used familiar imagery form both an oasis and farm for the Oasis Farms sign. I wanted create a sign that not only invoked nostalgia of farm fresh foods but also the relief from suffering provided by an oasis.

oasis farms sign daily create

Oasis Farms – Find Refuge from the Food Desert – Daily Create week 9

Leave a Reply

